Nigeria: National Statement on the Reinstatement of Nine Activists Expelled at the Federal University of Technology, Owerri (Futo)


Statement by the Alliance of Nigerian Students Against Neoliberal Attacks (Nigeria), 3 August 2018




The Alliance of Nigerian Students Against Neoliberal Attacks (ANSA) seizes this medium to congratulate the students of the Federal University of Technology, OWERRI and the entire Nigerian Students at large on the reinstatement of Nine (9) student activists who were expelled from the Institution for fighting against draconic hike in fee. This victory over depraved tyranny is for us a further confirmation that if we indeed fight, we may win but if we do not, we have already lost.


It should be recalled that over a year and half ago, the Management of FUTO expelled Nine(9) of our Comrades for resisting the Professor Francis Eze's policy of fee hike. The expelled, now reinstated students are:


1. Kenneth Megwa


2. Chizoba Ukaegbu


3. Chike Fred Abraham


4. Ugwu Collins Okey


5. Mmadu Nnamdi


6. Victor Ihuka


7. Ogbonna Collins (ANSA Imo State Coordinator and Former PRO FUTOSU),


8. Elvis Onuoha (Former Sec. Gen. FUTOSU)


9. Odunze Ebuka




The Alliance upon receiving this news, took up immediately the case both politically and legally laced with diverse engagements with students, members of staff,Labour Unions et al. Even the barricades was not spared out of the series of engagement with the Authorities of the Federal University of Technology, OWERRI and the Nigerian GOVERNMENT at large.


Our appreciations go to mass of FUTO students who have relentlessly shown dauntless support in the course of this struggle. The National Leadership also seizes thus medium to appreciate all ANSA State Coordinators, Committee of the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR), the Press, United Action For Democracy (UAD) and the Joint Action Front (JAF). Special appreciations go to the ANSA, UNIBEN BRANCH and OGUN CHAPTER. We also seizes this medium to appreciate Barrister Malachy Ugwummadu Chamber for their unrelenting legal and political support throughout the struggle for the reinstatement of our victimized cadres.


For us in the Alliance, we reiterate our unflinching stance against victimization of activists, anti-poor fee hikes and other such policies that steal from the poor to feed the rich.


We call on mass of students, civil socities, organized labour unions and staff unions to join us in this historical struggle of ridding our campuses of tyrannical maladministration.


Dare to struggle. Dare to Win!






National Secretariat, ANSA